(Most of the information below has been provided by the DBPR website)

Age: Must be at least 18 years of age.

Social Security Number: You must have a United States Social Security number to apply. You may visit the Social Security Administration website for information on how to obtain one.

Education: Must hold a high school diploma or its equivalent.

Fingerprints: An applicant must have a background check as part of the licensing process. You must submit your fingerprints using a Livescan Service Provider registered with Florida Department of Law enforcement (FDLE) immediately after submitting your application for licensure. It may take up to five days for your fingerprint results to be received by the Department after they are submitted to the Florida Department of Law enforcement (FDLE). Please note that the FDLE  requires that an application for licensure should precede the submission of your fingerprints.

PRE-LICENSE Required Education: You must successfully complete a Florida state approved 63-hour pre-license education course for sales associates.  (MLS Real Estate School is a licensed provider of this course – see course list).  Upon successful completion of the course, you will receive an official certificate of completion.  The course is good for two (2) years from the date of completion. NOTE:  An expired course will not be accepted at the exam site and you will not be able to take your exam without proof of a valid course completion slip.

Education Exemptions: If you hold a 4 year degree, or higher, in real estate you may be exempt from the pre-license education requirement. In order to determine your exemption please submit an original certified transcript with your application for review. If you wish to submit prior to application, please send an original certified transcript with cover letter to: Division of Real Estate, Attention: Education Section, 400 West Robinson Street, Suite N801 Orlando, Florida 32801.

Examination: The Examination is given by Pearson Vue, the State Testing Vendor.  There are multiple testing locations throughout Florida.  To Learn more, please visit the Pearson Vue website:  (https://home.pearsonvue.com/) to find a location near you to set up your exam once the application has been approved by the DBPR.  NotePrior to taking the state exam, you MUST show valid proof of course completion of the Florida approved 63-hour pre-license education for Real Estate Sales Associates to Pearson Vue. You will not be allowed to take the state exam without this certificate.

Fees: Pay the required fee as provided in the application. Military veterans, their spouses and Florida National Guard members may be eligible for a fee waiver, fee reimbursement, and/or fee discount. Please visit the DBPR Military Services page for more information.

Please visit:  https://www.myfloridalicense.com to learn more about Licensing requirements or to submit your application.